The Ancient Sorceries of Clawdia Chauchat

magicm1

Quote Originally Posted by Nemonymous View Post

Something I wrote in 2013 on my blog:

“I don’t want to harp on about this, but I genuinely think that – at least in
part – that The Hospice (and Into The Wood?) forms a tribute to ‘The Magic
Mountain’ by Thomas Mann and covers many of its themes which you can tick off
one by one. And I think we know that Thomas Mann was one of Aickman’s major
influences according to his letters. But I have been the first to decry this biographical
type of literary criticism based on my life-long interest in the Intentional Fallacy!
So I am torn.”

My original real-time review of ‘The Magic Mountain’ (including comparison with Aickman) started here:
http://nullimmortalis.wordpress.com/13219-2/

Quote Originally Posted by Nemonymous
I happen currently to be real-time reviewing ‘Ancient Sorceries and other chilling tales’:
by Algernon Blackwood | THE DES LEWIS DREAMCATCHER REVIEWS

A surprising discovery I have made there regarding ‘Ancient Sorceries’ by Algernon Blackwood, ‘The Magic Mountain’ by Thomas Mann and ‘The Hospice’ by Robert Aickman.

No comments yet.

Leave a comment