1 Hawling

From here: https://howivi.wordpress.com/the-big-book-of-science-fiction/comment-page-1/#comment-389
(THE BIG BOOK OF SCIENCE FICTION edited by Ann and Jeff VanderMeer)

image

THE HALL OF MACHINES (1968) by Langdon Jones

“My research has become, to a degree, obsessional. I now find that my normal routine has been disturbed to quite a large extent over the last three years. I have devoted a complete room to this work, my ultimate intention being to shape the material into a comprehensive book.”

Never shy of personalising my reviews (in the hope of co-triangulation with other such reviews of a particular book or work), I do see this stunning text of structural dystropes – almost a HOUSE of Leaves-like examination of a Tate Gallery Art Installation called a Hall – as equivalent to this interconnected labyrinth of electronic dreamcatching or hawling as gestalt real-time book reviews, a labyrinth that grows and grows, while threatening to collapse… “making electric music together” on this screen you’re watching now.

It also seems appropriate to read this work for the first time today, on the 15th anniversary of 9/11, either “…and the whole thing dissolved into dust…” or “…and always will be, increasing in size!”

PS: I don’t think I had heard of Langdon Jones until today. But I had a story published in 1988 entitled LONGLAND JONES (text of it here: http://weirdmonger.blogdrive.com/archive/65.html)

 

No comments yet.

Leave a comment