4 thoughts on “Nothing by Henry Green

  1. Unlike in my heyday in recent years regarding older literature and genre short stories and novels whereby I accomplished in detail many experimental or personal critiques as linked here: https://dflewisreviews.wordpress.com/2022/12/23/some-of-my-serial-reviews-indexed/, my ageing and lazing brain now finds it more difficult to continue to do so.

    For those interested in the plot of NOTHING, this is an excellent article: https://anokatony.wordpress.com/2020/06/19/nothing-by-henry-green-a-novel-composed-almost-entirely-of-dialogue/

    • From NOTHING:

      “Such a blind view of life. No, you have to look forward, face the future whatever that may bring.”

      ***

      “‘Oh I do sometimes thank God you’re blind and I pray you’ll keep so.’
      ‘My eyes are all right Jane.’
      ‘They’re beautiful ones,’ she assured him ‘and beautifuller still while they don’t know what they miss by staring at me with your particularly sweet expression.’”

  2. From three separate places in this novel…

    She will persist in hugging her own elbow

    she has somehow to keep hold on her elbow,

    she liked to hang from the elbow

    I have NOTHING else to say.

Leave a comment